Blog fairies at work + input = ?

17 Jun

Don’t mind the tinkering, I’m still getting the kinks of blogging worked out. It will be interesting to see where this blog ends up by the end of summer. I like to change things a lot until they’re just right.

 

Along the way I would love for any input on the design of the site. So any comments are appreciated!

5 Responses to “Blog fairies at work + input = ?”

  1. bluespoo June 28, 2012 at 4:11 am #

    Same here! I have a feeling I’m going to spend the entire summer just tinkering with the blog. . . How did you choose your theme?

    ps. Your comics are really well drawn.

    • adorkabledoodles July 4, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      I finally settled with this theme, since it’s simple yet entertaining (at least to me)

      Thank you! I’m really trying to play up the ‘doodle’ aspect of my blog. I’m glad that you like it!

  2. socialmediagurugirl July 9, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    I agree – wonderful layout

    wonder if there is some widget that would let you put a few of your “doodles” in between other elements in the right column

    also, I suggest experimenting with the order — for example, get the tags above the fold and move the archive to the bottom

    • adorkabledoodles July 22, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

      Thanks! I’ll definitely switch those widgets around. I’m thinking that the downloadable form of wordpress has many more widgets and infinite customization, so I’m trying to set aside time to try and build something more personalized. I’ll keep your input about the doodles in the right column in mind. Thanks again for the awesome input.

      • socialmediagurugirl July 30, 2012 at 10:21 am #

        I think you are right about the downloadable version — but of course then you need somewhere to host it… although it is much easier to monitize and perhpas that can be worth it…

        I learned a trick about widget use here on the wordpress.org site:
        If you try out a template and add widgets from it, those widgets will be available when you switch to another template that does not include them. They are at the bottom in an “unused” category but you can add them onto your active widget area(s).

Leave a comment